Dodgers News: Mookie Betts & Freddie Freeman Among 2023 Hank Aaron Award Finalists

Originally published by

Los Angeles Dodgers All-Stars Mookie Betts and Freddie Freeman were named among the National League finalists for the 2023 Hank Aaron Award, which is presented annually to the top offensive player in each league.

Fellow finalists for the NL honor are Ronald Acuña Jr. and Matt Olson (Atlanta Braves), Corbin Carroll (Arizona Diamondbacks), Cody Bellinger (Chicago Cubs), Luis Arraez (Miami Marlins), Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies) and Juan Soto (San Diego Padres).

The American League nominees for this year’s Hank Aaron Award are Yordan Alvarez and Kyle Tucker (Houston Astros), Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels), Aaron Judge (New York Yankees), Julio Rodríguez (Seattle Mariners), Yandy Díaz (Tampa Bay Rays), and Adolis García, Corey Seager and Marcus Semien (Texas Rangers).

Betts and Freeman were finalists for last year’s honor as well, which ultimately went to St. Louis Cardinals MVP Paul Goldschmidt. Matt Kemp (2011) is the only Dodgers player to ever win the Hank Aaron Award.

Each team nominates players to be considered, and a panel of writers then determine eight Hank Aaron Award finalists from each league. Fans had the opportunity to vote for a winner in the AL and NL through Friday, October 13.

In addition to Hank Aaron Award fan voting, a panel of MLB legends that includes Derek Jeter, David Ortiz, Albert Pujols, Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Pedro Martínez, John Smoltz, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount will vote for respective league winners as well.

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of his breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record. At the time it was the first major award introduced by MLB in more than 25 years.

Betts hit .307/.408/.579/ with 40 doubles, 39 home runs, 107 RBI and 14 stolen bases in 693 plate appearances over 152 games while serving as the spark out of the leadoff spot in the Dodgers lineup.

Freeman led the Majors with 59 doubles and batted .331/.410/.567 with 29 home runs, 102 RBI and a career-high 23 stolen bases in 730 plate appearances across 161 games.

History of Hank Aaron Award winners

Paul Goldschmidt and Aaron Judge (2022)
Vladmir Guerrero Jr. and Bryce Harper (2021)
José Abreu and Freddie Freeman (2020)
Mike Trout and Christian Yelich (2019)
J.D. Martinez and Christian Yelich (2018)
Giancarlo Stanton and Jose Altuve (2017)
Kris Bryant and David Ortiz (2016)
Josh Donaldson and Bryce Harper (2015)
Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014)
Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013)
Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012)
José Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011)
José Bautista and Joey Votto (2010)
Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009)
Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008)
Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007)
Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006)
David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005)
Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004)
Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols (2003)
Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds (2001-2002)
Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000)
Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999)

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!