Dodgers News: Mookie Betts Among 2023 Players Choice Awards Finalists

Originally published by

Mookie Betts was the only member of the Los Angeles Dodgers to be named among the 2023 Players Choice Awards finalists, placing in the top three for MLB Player of the Year and National League Outstanding Player.

Last year the Dodgers were represented by Freddie Freeman (NL Outstanding Player) and Julio Urías (NL Outstanding Pitcher) as Players Choice Awards finalists.

Like in 2022, Freeman and Betts also are in the running for the NL Hank Aaron Award this year.

Betts hit .307/.408/.579/ with 40 doubles, 39 home runs, 107 RBI, 14 stolen bases, 126 runs scored and 167 wRC+ in 693 plate appearances over 152 games this season while serving as the spark out of the leadoff spot in the Dodgers lineup.

Betts finished in top three in the NL in wRC+, OPS+ (163), doubles, slugging percentage, on-base plus slugging (.987) and extra-base hits (80). His 39 home runs set a new career high, which previously was 35 hit during the 2022 season.

Among other accomplishments in 2023, Betts also set a new MLB record for most RBI out of the leadoff spot. It previously was 103 RBI, set by Charlie Blackmon.

Betts additionally holds the Dodgers franchise record for most leadoff home runs with 12. It previously belonged to Joc Pederson, who hit nine leadoff homers in 2019.

All 2023 Players Choice Awards winners will be announced Thursday, November 2, during the 3 p.m. PT edition of SportsCenter on ESPN.

Since 1992, the Players Choice Awards have recognized on- and off-field performances. Voting among all players was conducted in late September.

Also included is the Curt Flood Award, which is given to a living or deceased former player “who in the image of Flood demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of Players’ rights.”

2023 Players Choice Awards finalists

MLB Player of the Year

Ronald Acuña Jr. (Atlanta Braves), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)

Outstanding Player Award

American League: Yandy Díaz (Tampa Bay Rays), Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels), Corey Seager (Texas Rangers)

National League: Ronald Acuña Jr. (Atlanta Braves), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Matt Olson (Atlanta Braves)

Outstanding Pitcher Award

American League: Kyle Bradish (Baltimore Orioles), Gerrit Cole (New York Yankees), Sonny Gray (Minnesota Twins)

National League: Zac Gallen (Arizona Diamondbacks), Blake Snell (San Diego Padres), Justin Steele (Chicago Cubs)

Outstanding Rookie Award

American League: Triston Casas (Boston Red Sox), Gunnar Henderson (Baltimore Orioles), Josh Jung (Texas Rangers)

National League: Corbin Carroll (Arizona Diamondbacks), Kodai Senga (Chicago Cubs), Spencer Steer (Cincinnati Reds)

Comeback Player Award

American League: Tyler Glasnow (Tampa Bay Rays), Liam Hendriks (Chicago White Sox), Ryan O’Hearn (Baltimore Orioles)

National League: Cody Bellinger (Cody Bellinger), Michael Conforto (San Francisco Giants), Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies)

Marvin Miller Man of the Year

Ian Happ (Chicago Cubs), Francisco Lindor (New York Mets), Marcus Semien (Texas Rangers)

Curt Flood Award

Phil Bradley, Scott Sanderson

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!