2019 NLDS: Dustin May Among 4 Rookies Included On Dodgers Roster

The Los Angeles Dodgers officially set their postseason roster for the 2019 National League Division Series, doing so without any surprises given recent comments by manager Dave Roberts.


Last month Roberts revealed Ross Stripling would be included in the postseason bullpen, and more recently tipped his hand when raving about rookies Matt Beaty, Gavin Lux and Will Smith. Roberts also eliminated the possibility injury would keep Joe Kelly or Justin Turner off the NLDS roster.

As outlined to be the case, the Dodgers opted for an eight-man bullpen against the Washington Nationals. It includes Dustin May, who seemingly earned a nod over Tony Gonsolin.

The Dodgers’ starting staff — with Walker Buehler taking the ball in Game 1 — was locked into place once Rich Hill proved to be a capable fourth starter.

While there was plenty of clarity with the NLDS roster, it still left off those who contributed and performed well this season. “This is tough,” Roberts said after a workout at Dodger Stadium.

“It’s tough. It’s one of those things that all these guys have been invited to the dance and once the invitations are handed out, they’re essentially left at the doorstep. We don’t see it that way but you’ve got players who have a lot of pride and feel they can contribute to the 25-man roster, you’ve got families that are excited.

“My messaging is understanding that things could change going forward, whether it be injury or matchup. We’ve used 50-something guys this year and needed every single one of those guys. Those conversations certainly are difficult, and you’ve got to be sensitive to that.”

Below is a break down of the Dodgers’ 25-man roster for the 2019 NLDS (players listed alphabetically in each position group)

Starting pitchers (4): Walker Buehler, Rich Hill, Clayton Kershaw, Hyun-Jin Ryu

Relief pitchers (8): Pedro Baez, Kenley Jansen, Joe Kelly, Adam Kolarek, Kenta Maeda, Dustin May, Ross Stripling, Julio Urias

Catchers (2): Russell Martin, Will Smith

Infielders (7): Matt Beaty, David Freese, Kiké Hernandez, Gavin Lux, Max Muncy, Corey Seager, Justin Turner

Outfielders (4): Cody Bellinger, Joc Pederson, A.J. Pollock, Chris Taylor

Complete 2019 NLDS schedule with available start times and TV information

Game 1: Thursday, Oct. 3, Dodger Stadium, 5:37 p.m. PT (TBS)
Game 2: Friday, Oct. 4, Dodger Stadium, 6:37 p.m. (TBS)
Game 3: Sunday, Oct. 6, Nationals Park, 4:45 p.m. (TBS)
Game 4*: Monday, Oct. 7, Nationals Park (TBS)
Game 5*: Wednesday, Oct. 9, Dodger Stadium (TBS)

*if necessary