MLB News: No Players Voted Into 2013 Hall of Fame Class

MLB News: No Players Voted Into 2013 Hall of Fame Class

12:08 pm

USATSI_8003058_154224518_lowresFor only the eighth time in MLB history, no one was elected into Baseball’s Hall of Fame. On the 2013 ballot, there were 37 hall of fame candidates, and not one of them received the necessary 75 percent vote to make it into this class of the hall of fame, according to the official Baseball Writers Association of America. 

Commenting on the election, Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson said, “The standards for earning election to the Hall of Fame have been very high ever since the rules were created in 1936. We realize the challenges voters are faced with in this era. The Hall of Fame has always entrusted the exclusive voting privilege to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. We remain pleased with their role in evaluating candidates based on the criteria we provide.”

Among those on the ballot were Craig Biggio, who received the most votes of anyone in 2013, but only received 68.2 percent of the vote. Other notables on the ballot were Jack Morris (67.7 percent), Jeff Bagwell (59.6 percent), and Mike Piazza (57.8 percent), who may have been the greatest batting catcher of all time.

For the next few years, the MLB balloting will continue to be controversial as guys who played during the PEDs era will continue to show up on the ballot. Guys like Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Mark McGuire and Samy Sosa all appeared on this years ballot and received somewhere between 37 and 12.5 percent of the vote.

Despite no players being voted into this year’s Hall of Fame class, there will still be a hall of fame ceremony in July which will feature umpire Hank O’Day, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th-century player Deacon White. There will also be 12 individuals who are already members of the HOF who will be recognized during this year’s ceremony. Of those 12 will be Lou Gehrig and the entire 1945 class. They weren’t given formal ceremonies at the time due to wartime restrictions.

This year’s ceremony will take place on July 28.

For more on this story, check out Serena Winters’ report: