Chandler, Noah, Harden Among First-Time All-Stars In Reserves

Chandler, Noah, Harden Among First-Time All-Stars In Reserves

4:24 pm

8471829. Let’s get into the reserves as announced by TNT.

Jrue Holiday (G, Philadelphia 76ers)*
Kyrie Irving (G, Cleveland Cavaliers)*
Paul George (F, Indiana Pacers)*
Luol Deng (F, Chicago Bulls)
Chris Bosh (F/C, Miami Heat)
Tyson Chandler (C, New York Knicks)*
Joakim Noah (C, Chicago Bulls)*

James Harden (G, Houston Rockets)*
Tony Parker (G, San Antonio Spurs)
Russell Westbrook (G, Oklahoma City Thunder)
LaMarcus Aldridge (F, Portland Trail Blazers)
Zach Randolph (F, Memphis Grizzlies)
David Lee (F, Golden State Warriors)
Tim Duncan (F, San Antonio Spurs)

*first-time all-star

There were five first-time all-stars chosen in the Eastern Conference. Joakim Noah, who has had an up-and-down week, made the team for the first time. Kyrie Irving, even though his Cavaliers are near the bottom of the Eastern Conference, has been sparkling with averages of 23.7 points and 5.7 assists per game. Without Danny Granger, the Pacers have been led by Paul George, who is averaging 17.3 points and 7.8 boards per game. Jrue Holiday has been great for the Sixers, averaging 19.0 points and 9.0 assists thus far.

Tyson Chandler, the reigning Defensive Player of the Year, is also making his All-Star debut. As for the Western Conference, the lone first-time all-star was the Rockets’ James Harden. Harden was traded from the Oklahoma City Thunder right before the season and has had a breakout season, averaging 25.8 points this year. The All-Star Game will be played in Houston, where Harden plays, on February 17th.

And let’s remind everybody of the starters. In the Eastern Conference, the frontline consists of Kevin Garnett of the Boston Celtics, Carmelo Anthony of the New York Knicks, and LeBron James of the Miami Heat. The backcourt consists of Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat and Rajon Rondo of the Boston Celtics. In the Western Conference, their frontline has Dwight Howard of the Los Angeles Lakers, Blake Griffin of the Los Angeles Clippers, and Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder.

Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors, Marc Gasol of the Memphis Grizzlies, and Jamal Crawford of the Los Angeles Clippers were some of the more notable snubs.